List of T20 WorldCup Winners 2007-2021

The forthcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 will be held in Australia, where the defending champions are also the hosts. The most successful team in the World Cups is West Indies, which has won twice.

South Africa hosted the first game in 2007. India dominated the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2007, with Pakistan finishing in second place.

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 is scheduled to begin on October 16, and the Final game is set for November 13. Australia is the host nation and the reigning ICC Men’s T20 World Cup champion.

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Winners List

Check out the complete list of T20 WorldCup Winners 2007-2021.

YearWinnerRunners UpHostFinals Venue
2007IndiaPakistanSouth AfricaWanderers Stadium, Johannesburg
2009PakistanSri LankaEnglandLord’s, London
2010EnglandAustraliaWest IndiesKensington Oval, Bridgetown
2012West IndiesSri LankaSri LankaR. Premadasa Stadium
2014Sri LankaIndiaBangladeshSher-e-Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka
2016West IndiesEnglandIndiaEden Gardens, Kolkata
2021AustraliaNew ZealandIndia(UAE)Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai

ICC T20 WC Winning Captains List

Under MSD’s captaincy, India won the maiden T20 World Cup competition in 2007. One of the most exciting contests in ICC World Cup match history was the final game between India and Pakistan.

Following is the list of ICC T20 WC winning captains:

YearWinning TeamCaptain
2007IndiaM S Dhoni
2009PakistanYounis Khan
2010EnglandPaul Collingwood
2012West IndiesDarren Sammy
2014Sri LankaDinesh Chandimal
Lasith Malinga
2016West IndiesDarren Sammy
2021AustraliaAaron Finch

Who has won the most T20 World Cup Titles?

Team NameNo. of times Champion
West Indies2
Sri Lanka1

The only side to have won the ICC T20 World Cup trophy twice is the West Indies. Australia has taken home the 50-over Cricket World Cup trophy five times and has managed to win the ICC T20 World Cup once.

Read this article to learn about T20 World Cup 2022 Opening Ceremony.

Sri Lanka, which won the T20 World Cup in 2014, is the only team to have lost multiple T20 World Cup Finals. Both in 2009 and 2012.

T20 World Cup 2007 Winner – India

The Indian cricket team first won the T20 World Cup, and MS Dhoni-led India to victory over Pakistan in the tournament’s championship game. In the competition, they only suffered a single defeat, to New Zealand in the Super 8s.

T20 World Cup 2009 Winner – Pakistan

Pakistan won the trophy two years after placing second in the first T20 World Cup in 2009. This competition was held in England, and the winners, Pakistan, defeated Sri Lanka in the championship match. Pakistan lost their Super 8 encounter against Sri Lanka and their opening game versus England. But still, they managed to win the trophy through an outstanding performance of Shahid Afridi.

T20 World Cup 2010 Winner – England

In 2010, England won the T20 World Cup for the first time by a team that was not Asian. England defeated Australia in the championship game. The English team had fallen to the West Indies in their opening match but went on to win the rest of their matches and take home the championship.

T20 World Cup 2012 Winner – West Indies

To lose to Australia in their opening game of the 2012 ICC T20 World Cup, West Indies also took home the title. In the summit match, the Caribbean squad upset Sri Lanka’s hosts.

T20 World Cup 2014 Winner – Sri Lanka

To win the 2014 T20 World Cup, Sri Lanka overcame India. The islands were undefeated in their previous matches but suffered a group-stage loss to England.

T20 World Cup 2016 Winner – West Indies

The West Indies team became the first to double up in the T20 World Cup. The Caribbean team won the title in India’s 2016 T20 World Cup. In the championship game, they defeated England. Only one of the West Indies’ games was lost to Afghanistan, and they defeated all other opponents.

Photo of author

Afaaq Khan

I'm Afaq Khan. A cricketer by heart, and a blogger by choice. Started writing about cricket because Writing keeps me closer to the game. I keep an eye on every update on cricket, especially about World Cup. My writings would keep you updated about each happening in the T20 World Cup.

Leave a Comment