Australia Cricket Squad for T20 World Cup 2022

After finishing runners-up in the 2010 edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, the Australian cricket team won their first win in 11 years in 2021. The significant victory came when the squad overcame New Zealand in a high-energy final at the Dubai International Stadium in the UAE.

With the establishment of T20 Cricket’s top global event for men in 2007, the Australia T20 World Cup Team could only come close to winning the trophy in 2010, becoming runners-up.

Australia Squad Announced for T20 World Cup 2022

Cricket Australia has just announced its Squad for T20 World Cup that will take place next month on their home grounds. Aaron Finch will lead the team whereas Mitchel Marsh will be the vice-captain.

Here is the list of complete team members.

Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Tim David, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade (wk), David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Performance in the past T20 World Cup

  • The Australian cricket team’s results in the T20 World Cups are summarised here.
  • 2007 ICC World T20: The uplifting experiences of the 2007 ICC ODI World Cup victory energized the Australian cricket squad for a new beginning under Ricky Ponting’s direction. Unfortunately, they were forced to make an embarrassing exit against the Men in Blue in the semifinals.
  • 2009 ICC World T20: The Australian Team had to undergo a group stage exit in the second iteration of this international competition, which was a nightmare for them.
  • ICC World Cup T20 2010: After an early exit in 2009, the Australian T20 World Cup Team’s 2010 T20 World Cup campaign served as redemption. They, unfortunately, lost to England in the championship game, which was terrible.
  • ICC World Cup T20 2012: The Australians faced the Windies in the semifinals thanks to a higher net run rate. However, the team was forced to give up and lose the semifinal match because of a weak Australian bowling attack.
  • ICC World T20 2014: The Australia T20 World Cup Captain George Bailey resigned from the position following Australia’s worst Super 10s performance, which resulted in an early group stage exit at the 2014 ICC World T20.
  • ICC World Cup T20 2016: Under the guidance of new captain Steve Smith, Australia’s campaign was once again unsuccessful, losing in the Super 10s group stage for the second time in a row.
  • ICC World Cup T20 2021: The Australians had a memorable year in which they won all ICC trophies, including the inaugural ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 trophy after defeating New Zealand in the T20 world cup finals.
Photo of author

Afaaq Khan

I'm Afaq Khan. A cricketer by heart, and a blogger by choice. Started writing about cricket because Writing keeps me closer to the game. I keep an eye on every update on cricket, especially about World Cup. My writings would keep you updated about each happening in the T20 World Cup.

Leave a Comment